A day for baking.

Today it is raining in New Orleans. Rain makes me want to read a book, bake, and watch movies. I don’t have a good excuse to read a fun book or watch movies as I have research papers to write, but I have a legitimate excuse to bake!! Since I have this fabulous holiday cocktail game night to attend tonight, I stayed inside after this morning’s class and made the cake batter cookies I was talking about yesterday!

I got this very unhealthy but delightful recipe from a small town Mississippi church cookbook called the Merry Hearts Cookbook. Cute right? Obviously this is not on the internet or I would show you. However, I’m pretty sure the nice ladies who collaborated to make this cookbook wouldn’t mind my sharing the recipe.

yumyumyum

Oatmeal Cake Batter Cookies

1 box yellow cake mix (I used Pillsbury Extra Moist)

2 cups oatmeal

1 cup sugar

1 cup canola oil

2 eggs

1 cup chocolate chips

1/3 cup sprinkles–>Actually the recipe called for pecans which would also be great here, but I wanted them to be cute 🙂

Mix all ingredients together and bake at 350 degrees F for about 10-15 min.

This is obviously not a surprising recipe as I’m pretty sure it has been around for awhile, but sometimes it boosts myself- baking-esteem to make a ridiculously easy, can’t go wrong recipe. Though in the interest of full-disclosure, I almost went wrong bc I spilled the cake batter all over my counter and had to sweep it up into the mixing bowl. #imabakingdisaster

One thought on “A day for baking.

  1. […] A day for baking. (thescarlettletter.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment